Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Silly question

  1. #1
    @ Elephant Butte, NM RXT-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    32

    Silly question

    Is the hose connection (to do oil change) on the rxt-x the black plastic tube to the right of the steering nozzle?
    I followed the oil change directions and started the ski before attaching the hose however, it didnt seem like the ski was talking any of the water in when I reved to 4000 rpm.


  2. #2
    Mine happens to be on the left side of the pump.

    Why would you rev to 4K when on the hose?

  3. #3
    @ Elephant Butte, NM RXT-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    32
    Whoops. Guess I was in a hurry and misread the directions to shut off the hose before reving to 4k. Hope I didn't warp anything. Only did it for about 3 seconds.
    Anyway it seems like when I do attach the hose it does nothing but leak out from under the steering nozzle. Is thing right?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    116
    thats what the hose is for. It will travel through the exhaust and the pump when running. Always remember to turn the the ski on first then the water. when finished turn the water off before you turn the ski off. If you let the water run without your ski running it can flood back into the motor. Other than that you did everything ok. Although you have to let your ski run longer than that to completely warm up.

  5. #5
    @ Elephant Butte, NM RXT-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    32
    So am I correct in using the black nozzle to the right of the steering nozzle.

  6. #6
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ft.Lauderdale
    Posts
    3,237
    Quote Originally Posted by RXT-X View Post
    So am I correct in using the black nozzle to the right of the steering nozzle.

    yep

  7. #7
    @ Elephant Butte, NM RXT-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex13 View Post
    yep
    Thank You!

    Quote Originally Posted by TheEngineer View Post
    If my oil level is exactly at the start of the top bend on the dip stick (right where you're at the level of too much oil), anyone know what quantity I would need to remove in order to get the level back to exactly in the middle? I've been finding it difficult to obtain an oil level exactly in the middle. Thought I had it perfect after my last change, went out and ran the ski for an hour, came back in and checked again and now the oil is right at the top marker.

    Thanks

    Kevin

    I had the same issue. Sucked out 2 qts during the first change. That is all I could get out even after warming it up and doing the wot start at least 4 times. I added 3 new qts and now it looks like I have too much oil. I assume i did not get all the old oil out. When I did drain and checked the dipstick there was nothing on it. I'm bewildered. Cars are so much easier to work on.

  8. #8
    richrxp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    949
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by RXT-X View Post
    Thank You!


    I had the same issue. Sucked out 2 qts during the first change. That is all I could get out even after warming it up and doing the wot start at least 4 times. I added 3 new qts and now it looks like I have too much oil. I assume i did not get all the old oil out.




    Never put more oil in ,as the amount you sucked out.

    If engine oil level was between the marks on the dipstick your ok.

    Why add extra oil if oil level was ok?

    Suck the extra oil out ,it will cost rpm's = speed

  9. #9
    @ Elephant Butte, NM RXT-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by richrxp View Post
    Never put more oil in ,as the amount you sucked out.

    If engine oil level was between the marks on the dipstick your ok.

    Why add extra oil if oil level was ok?

    Suck the extra oil out ,it will cost rpm's = speed

    I couldnt find any info on the net to how much the factory put in there. I could only get out 2 qts after about 1 hour of trying. I read it takes 4.
    I may have to pump about a qt out. No big deal. The motor hasn't been started yet.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lake Dunlap, Texas
    Posts
    1,600
    +1
    28
    You will NEVER get all the oil out for an oil change. There will always be at least one quart left. About a quart of oil is hidng in the PTO housing and you cant suck it out. You will only need about two quarts on a oil change.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-07-2014, 09:00 AM
  2. Reed Assembly Rubber stop silly question
    By JohnCiccarelli in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-05-2008, 10:10 PM
  3. Silly question, does the FX SHO security system make any noise?
    By skeeterzx225 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 09:05 AM
  4. Silly Question..Ski dropped hard
    By Toobold in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 07:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •