Thread: New to the game

New to the game

Hows it goin everyone, im new to the forum and plan on gettin my first ski this weekend, but need some advice. ive been ridin for a while but have never had my own ski. im in miami florida and in the city north of mine theres a guy sellin a 1995 waveraider 1100, it has 130 original hours on the hull and the motor was totally rebuilt at 110 hours, like i said im a rookie so i dont know much about the mechanics but i do know how to ride. so i need advice as what to look for when buying a used ski, he tells me it was rebuilt and in the process bored it out a little over 1200 cc's, he said it has some kind of stainless steel impellar and upgraded pistons and a few more things i cant remember, he says it starts right up and runs just fine..he was asking 1500 but i got him down to 1100 with the trailer, the outside of the ski is in better than decent condition with a little fading but not too bad, is it worth it, what should i look for so im not getting committed to something im gonna regret? thanks alot guys

anyone help out??

Welcome to the forum,personally,i would take someone with you when buying a ski if you dont know too much about them.You need to do a compression test and take it for a test ride before you part with your cash.I have no idea on your budget but i would save and get a GPR,I'm not biased in any way whatsoever,i just think you should join the club .

lol i am definately very open minded but one thing is the budget...not a penny over 1500...but yeah so how would i got about doing a compression test what is needed? and lets suppose i cant take anyone more knowledgeable than i am....then what??