94 750 sl problem, please help!

Hello, I have a 94 750sl. I took it out for the first time, and it ran great for the first 1/2 hour or so. I drove it in to pick up one of my kids, and I realized I was in shallower water than I expected. I heard a rock or something sounded like it got into the grate of the impellor. I immediately shut it off. I went and grabbed my son, and we got onto the jet ski, started it, and when I pushed the throttle to accelerate, according to the MFD, I only was at 5mph, yet I had 6000 RPMs. I flipped the ski over and the intake was clean. I tried it several more times, and still more of the same. I am thinking it is something in the propulsion area, as opposed to a engine problem, but obviously I am not a pro. when I spin the drive shaft, I can feel the compression of the motor, and the propellor seems in good shape and still turns with the drive shaft. Is the coupler bad? Anyone have any ideas, please help me! I live in Minnesota and time is running out! thanks in advance.

upon further review, I think this may be a cavitation issue? it looks like the shaft for the impeller is slightly discolored, according to the service manual is an indicator that there is a leak of some kind?

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    If it sounded like you picked up a rock, you may have damaged the stator blades, stub shaft, or splines. Either on the driveshaft, impeller or engine coupler.

Removal of the pump should help find the problem. Cavitation is possible too.

Pain is fear leaving your body.... rlovebk's Avatar
    +1
    Was riding with some buddies this weekend and 2 guys hit a rock bar, like a sand bar but rocks, in the MIDDLE of the frickin' river! The rxp would only go 25ish, (normal 70mph) Had 2 rocks stuck between blades on impeller. We got them out after alot of work Ski lost about 5 mph. just from this grindage.