Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Yokohoma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    31

    Having stock stereo issues:

    From the stock clarion head unit there is 1 set of RCA jacks on the back of the unit. My assumption is that this is an output jack because there is no option for input aux on the stereo. Also there is a blue and white wire hanging out next to the harness that I also assume is the remote wire.

    Basically I wanted to add a simple amp and sub to the stock stereo and hooked everything up to find that no sound was coming out of the amp. I checked the amp and sub and they work good so I assume that its either a faulty wire or most likely the head unit is scrap.

    My question is has anyone else simply plugged in an amp into the stock stereo (2006 sportster model) and had it work just fine? I'm trying to see if I need to replace the head unit.

    Thanks,

    Yoki


  2. #2
    Yokohoma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    31
    Or maybe there is a setting that I have to change in order for it to work?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    1,414
    I'm not using the stock stereo, but I wil say that you've got to make sure the amp is grounded correctly, or you won't hear anything. Ground it with a large gauge wire connected to the bolt on the frontside of your engine (where your battery's negative lead connects).

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    67
    Also, just because there are RCA jacks on the back of a head unit doesn't mean they do anything... it's possible there's a slightly better model that has those activated. You should be able to google the head unit's model number and find out for sure tho.

  5. #5
    Yokohoma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by VX1 View Post
    I'm not using the stock stereo, but I wil say that you've got to make sure the amp is grounded correctly, or you won't hear anything. Ground it with a large gauge wire connected to the bolt on the frontside of your engine (where your battery's negative lead connects).

    Lightbulb!! The ground wire wasn't connected to a good source so I changed it to the negative battery terminal and it came alive! I also torqued the nut so tight on the terminal bolt that it twisted right off. Whoops. Thank you cheap Chinese bolts!.

    Issue resolved.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Having a few issues on Stg3+ - help?
    By Vern in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 09:33 PM
  2. Anyone have any coil issue's before?
    By Water4fire in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 09:17 AM
  3. Finished Rebuild, Have MAJOR carb issue... HELP!
    By NeVerMind in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 03:22 PM
  4. Are the RXPX wear rings going to have the same issue as the RXP?
    By bustercherry in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 03:59 PM
  5. Anyone have stock installed height or seat pressure specs?
    By Shibby1485 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 12:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •