Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Newbie - just bought 96& 98 SLTX -suggestions?

Thw wife decided Friday night that we should get jetskis. I figured I'd start looking on craigslist thinking I'd find a deal by fall. I went on Sunday and found a 96 Polaris SLTX (54.5 hours) and 98 Polaris SLTX (32 hours)with tandem trailer. Both are a little faded but started right up. The previous owner put $500 into them last year (carb diaphrams, plugs, etc.).
    He let me have the lot for $1500. Three seaters were a plus as we have 4 kids 6-11 years old.
    I have limited experience even riding jetskis and I thought that this would be a good place to look for hints, tips and suggestions.

+1
    There will be a lot of answers. I recommend going through all of the maintenance tips and doing every one of them. This may avoid any future issues. Also, that trailer looks like it is tired. Boats are as reliable as you make them. Take care of them and they take care of you. Welcome aboard! The people here are the BEST at offering great advice and getting you through any Polaris troubles.

Good luck.

Plrs X45

I've been all over the internet since Sunday night. Of the 2 or three best site this is the only one I've joined so far. I have ordered a service manual that covers both skis and started a grocery list of things to check over. I did have to replace a fuse for the MFD on the 1996. Visually everything looks great (no gray fuel lines, no water in fuel filter etc.). I am doing everything suggested as far as lubrication, etc. Low hours, clean mechanics.
    The trailer is solid 1996, but upstate NY is the rust belt. Bearing Buddies are going on the wheels, webs are replacing the winch ropes and wiring will be checked and replaced as needed. I may sandblast and repaint.

+1