Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    32 Valves To Love! Racecar_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Alum Creek
    Posts
    635
    +1
    2

    Inductive RPM Sensor: Think it'll work?

    As I understand it, the GPR has no wire w/ a tach signal, correct? I think i remember being told that. So think this will now allow me to hook up say an Autometer Tach?


    • Suitable for connecting tachometers, nitrous systems or anytime a tach signal is required
    • Compatible with EFI and carbureted engines
    • Does not require any cutting or splicing into the factory wiring harness, for the safest possible installation
    • Simple three-wire installation
    71937 Inductive rpm sensor


  2. #2
    o uncola o's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,060
    Quote Originally Posted by Racecar_Dave View Post
    As I understand it, the GPR has no wire w/ a tach signal, correct? I think i remember being told that. So think this will now allow me to hook up say an Autometer Tach?


    • Suitable for connecting tachometers, nitrous systems or anytime a tach signal is required
    • Compatible with EFI and carbureted engines
    • Does not require any cutting or splicing into the factory wiring harness, for the safest possible installation
    • Simple three-wire installation
    71937 Inductive rpm sensor
    I think most people either use a pet tach or tiny tach. Not sure if you can use an inductive drive tach or not. I am sure someone will pitch in.

  3. #3
    32 Valves To Love! Racecar_Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Alum Creek
    Posts
    635
    +1
    2
    It looks like it clamps onto the spark plug wire, similar to a chassis dynometer tachometer, and the PET Tachometer, right?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    374
    if it's a EFI ski it has a tach port. Look at the ecu and you will see a two wire plug with a cap on it , that's the tach lead. A auto tach will work there. One wire is ground and the other is the pulse.

  5. #5
    PolarisNut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Lower Michigan
    Posts
    1,809
    You should be able to hook an autometer type tach right up to the magneto output on a carb ski...iirc, its a 3 pulse system. My digatron uses the same type signal, and just hooks up there. I prefer it to the PET tach that uses an inductive pickup, which can be flaky at times.

    EDIT: I see you have an 03...don't know if this also applies to the EFI system or not.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How you pre mix guys fooling the oil sensor to thinking its full ?
    By Fenderjack in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-28-2015, 11:07 AM
  2. 2009 RXP 7860 RPM, 68mph. Does it need supercharger work?
    By wingsaircharter in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-15-2013, 09:03 PM
  3. RXT speed/rpm loss... FOUND IT... but...
    By Shibby1485 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 11:08 AM
  4. Clutch question, I think it went? help
    By Griff350 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 06:20 PM
  5. Look what I just won for my RXP! I think it was a steal.
    By Water4fire in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-07-2005, 09:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •