Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

Red face Carb Issues 1995 SPI

Hi,

This forum is great first of thanks to all. I just bought this "project". Have done compression check 145-150 both cylinders. Exhaust is spitting water. Have replaced 3/4 of the grey lines with new ones....takes time because I am a beginner.

In the course of replacing the fuel lines I took the air filter off and found two small fuel lines going into a "T" and forward to the primer in the front of the ski. Anyway one of these "lines" literally comes off in my hand if I move the little fuel line. I don't think that is "correct", so what do I seal it with?

Also I am definitely afraid of taking the carb out but this ski bogs at top end...like it is starving or ???? I am reading all the posts on carb issues. What is the best thing this beginner can do in addition to carb cleaner? IF I get daring where do I go to get the rebuild kit?

Thanks

+1
    slipnot, replace ALL the old grey fuel line. Just aproblem waiting to happen if you dont. I replaced all mine but waited to late and had to remove carbs to clean filters in the carbs. The "DIY-fuel system cleaning" thread was a great help. I didn't have to buy kits and haven't had any problems since. Buy some good all stainless steel clamps. Those lines must be tight.

+1
    Did you have to replace the fuel selector or filters? I took it out "after I got it somewhat running". The same darn thing happened. Had it finally FT is was hesitating a little at top end. Spun the sucker out and me off of it and it wouldn't start again......towed home in disgrace. Ran the battery down trying to start the sucker.

Any idea on what the two little lines going into the carbs are about. Look like they T and then go to the primer in the front of the ski.

+1
    Another dumb question, do you work on your skis on a stand, the trailer, or in the water???

Sorry newbie here.

+1
    I'm fairly new too with these type carbs. Some of the experts can chime in.