+1

RXT Fiberglass Damage - $750 reasonable?

I was out this past Saturday and had another skier clip the side of my RXT. Repairing it myself is pretty much out of the question. I've got no experience with gel coats and fiberglass, plus I don't even have a garage to do it in. Repair estimates have ranged from $750 - $1500. Does this seem right for this small amount of damage? Or am I getting jobbed? The damage is definitely down into the fiberglass, but I can't see that it punched a hole all the way through or anything like that.

-Kevin
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	crash1.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	57.0 KB 
ID:	145376   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	crash2.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	45.2 KB 
ID:	145377   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	crash3.jpg 
Views:	74 
Size:	62.1 KB 
ID:	145378  

+1
    LOL, at first when I saw your pics I was thinking WOW that's a huge area, but then I saw the third photo...

I don't know man, to me that seems a little high for a small ding, I was thinking like $350 - 500, but I'm not a repair guy... at any rate, your insurance or the guy that hit you should help with this, right?

+1
    Yeah, I was thinking that's quite a lot. Hell, for about that, I'll sell you my rxp hull and you can do a little transplant

why not make the moron who hit you pay for it?

+1
    If you consider the price of the decal and the rub rail that appears to be damaged, the labor to r&r them, the 3-4 hr repair, plus refinish and materials, I would say the $750 is resonable. Keep in mind that they will be refinishing and blending a much larger area than the actual damage.

+1
    my .02
    dont bother to repair the rubrail, battle scars are cool. it doesnt even look that bad...
    remove all decals from the ski and dont pay for new one to replace the scratched one.
    just get the fiberglass/gelcoat fixed. that is a small repair, the cost seems high, find some other estimates.