Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

94 sl 750 no start

okay, my buddy had his ski at the lake the other day, forgot to put the plug in it, well it was beached when it sank, not submurged but close enough(from what I am told water reached top of rear jug). it wouldnt restart after, had a momentary hard crank, I've been researching and trying to find anything similiar posted. However, I have not been able to, the engine cranks over well now, had 12 volts when cranking, has spark, and I can spray fuel/oil into spark plug holes to attempt to sart but it doesnt even try now. I am thinking possibly a sheared flywheel key or the first throw on the crank(from mag to flywheel) has turned, as best as I can easily check the crank index from the 3 pistons is correct(damn close if not dead on). I am new to jet skis and I am a service tech on cars during the day, so I am mechanicaly inclined and have a clue. we did swap cdi boxes between the two and still no start(one that wouldnt start did start the other ski). am I way off thinking the crank index between the mag cyl and flywheel is off, or a flywheel key? any suggestions, fuel is good, no water in water seperator, I have good compression 115-120 across the board.
    any ideas?
    thanks
    --Justin

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Did water get inside the engine?
    Was the engine cranked with water inside, and spark plugs in place?

Is there water inside the engine now?

If you crank with all spark plugs out, does water spray out the plug holes?

yes, it seems that it did but no one can confirm for sure. The plugs were in place, and it apparently cranked slow immediately after. It does not have water in it now, and it was oiled the next day(after I found out). water does not spray, it just will not start now.

SPEED KILLS, BUT YOU GET THERE QUICKER Keddano's Avatar
    +1