'06 RXP Sucked Rock & Won't Start

Hi, I'm new to board. However, I've been searching and reading many posts and have found a lot of useful info. Thanks everyone!

However, I have a problem with my jet ski and it's not exactly the same as anything I've read (although close). I was out on a Lake this past weekend and while doing circles waiting for an open spot at the public access site I must have moved over a shallow part of the lake and sucked up a rock. It made a lot of rattling noises and then shut off. Wouldn't start again. We have 2 skis so my husband towed me in. Got home and found a huge rock in the impeller area. We were able to remove it from under the ski but it still won't turn over. The veins are pretty boogered up and the wear ring has some marks in it. However, from all the other posts I've read the skis normally just won't run well. Not that they won't even start or turn over. Have I done more damage than most? Why won't the ski start? Did it bend or gouge the impeller enough to possibly not turn or do you think there is more serious damage than the impeller/wear ring/veins? We were thinking of doing the repair work for the veins (grind them down), wear ring and possibly a new impeller ourselves but if there's more going on maybe we should just take it in?? Anyone have any suggestions??

Thanks in advance for any help.

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    Elephant Butte New Mexico
    the rock likely had some of them is perhaps melted into the wear ring and jammed in the impeller...this would prevent the motor from turning.

We get lots of melted wear ring/rock problems here as our gravel is actually bits of granite and not very pump friendly. With the correct tools and info you can find here, it's not outside the realms of first timer to perform an effective repair.