Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2000 RX..Won't recognize battery.

Hey guys. New to the forum. I am on vacation and went to start up my ski and it doesn't even recognize that the battery is hooked up. I bought a new battery before leaving for vacation, because I found out that the battery that was previously in it was not the right size. Anyway, I took the new battery into town and had it checked. It has a full charge. I checked the cables. They don't have any corrosion and they are tightly attached to the battery. When I hook the key to the post, I don't get anything. No beep, no read out, nothing. I ran it several times last summer and didn't have any issues with it before I put it away for the winter. This is my first ski so I am pretty new at this. I don't want to start pulling things off that I don't need to. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

+1
    Check your fuses first. They are on the MPEM under the little box/cap thing and there is also two in the rear box where the batt and plug cables come from.

Wow..2 fuses blown...the second one down (5) and the next one which was a 7.5. The two in the back look good. Going to run to town and get new fuses. Hopefully this is all that is wrong.

Well we replaced the 2 fuses..Got the 2 beeps, tried to crank it once and it blew the fuse for iginition system....Grrrrr..Now what?? Maybe someone will steal it out of the driveway....

+1
    Check all your grounds.

+1
    The 7.5 is for the VTS. The 5 is the MPEM itself.

Try unplugging the VTS (two plugs, one six, and on two wire) and see if it blows it.

Yep that was it. Opened up the VTS unit and it was full of water..Grrrrrrrrr.. Water and electrical components do not mix. Looks like I will not be taking the ski out any time in the near future. The VTS motor is a total mess and the rubber boot on the outside is crumbling into many little pieces. Looks like I will have a nice spring project.

+1
    The old boot failure. You are not the first victim.