Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

GP1200R Newbie With Carb Issue

Hey everybody, I'm a newbie in the PWC world. Just bought a 2000 GP1200R from my Uncle. To give some background, it had a nasty bogging problem last year that we believed was fuel derived, so we did a basic carb rebuild thinking that was the solution. We found a gunked up filter inside one of the carbs and we believe that was the smoking gun. While we were at it, I removed the cat and put a R&D D-plate in it.

Upon testing it out for the first time after this was all done, it ran great at idle, but it still had a bog to it, but this time it was only at the low end. If I feathered the throttle, I could get past it, and once I hit 5000 RPM on the stock tach, it felt like it did before all my problems began last summer.

My inclination is that the removal of the cat has eased some back pressure causing less fuel to get pushed through the lines at low RPM. I tried to give it some choke and at one point a certain amount seemed to make it better, so I'm thinking running too lean low end wise. I've heard that these skis have high/low speed adjuster screws that control how much fuel gets into the carbs, but I couldn't find any when I took the carbs apart. A friend of mine told me they're there and I have to replace them with T-handles.

I was wondering if anybody had done a cat removal as an only mod with one of these ski's and noticed a similar bog occur afterwards. I know the carbs have to get pulled off again to fix this, but I have no clue how much I'm supposed to turn the low speed adjustment screw to fix this problem. Do I do that to all cylinders? Any ideas?

Thanks.

+1
    When you did the carb rebuild, did you check popoff pressure? If not, you didn't do the carbs correctly.

Did you check proper PV operation?

If the answer is "no" to either one, use the search button and read up on it.

Quote Originally Posted by fullboogie View Post