Question 04 msx 150 boost drops and ski dies

hello everyone. i am new to this site but have read and found some great things. i have some problems that i need help with.
    first off i am a gm technician and have worked on/around boats and pwc for a while so testing and fixing isnt a problem as long as someone can lead me in a good direction.
    my friend has 2 identicle '04 msx 150's and now one of them idles good. then you punch it and the boost comes to full bars and ski starts to get on plane then boost gauge drops 3 bars and you come to idle again. the check eng. lite comes on. if you turn ski off for 5 minutes then try again you get the same result. if you slowly apply throttle will run good up to 55mph or so. thats were both skis top out.
    he took them to a guys house who was "polaris certified" so he says and looks as though he replaced wastegate solenoid. but didnt use factory one. jerry rigged another in place.
    is there a way i can read codes, where should i start to look and how should i component test things? any help greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by pimpdaddy1787; 08-24-2009 at 08:49 PM. Reason: title change

+1
    Welcome to Green Hulk

Yes ,you can get codes with out the soft ware. It is sinmilar to the old GM's ,where you jump a couple wires and the light flashes. K447 wrote up a great articule of how it's done and code deffinetions. I'm pretty sure it is in the tech/info section.
    Try to search for it,otherwise someone will chime in.

PS,the 4 stroke is a little different than most of us have experience with,there are several members that have alot of experience with the 4 stroke,you might need to wait for them to reply.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by casey67 View Post
    ...K447 wrote up a great articule of how it's done and code definitions...