Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

MSX150 - to rebuild or part out

I'm in Canada new to the forum. I have been looking for answers after receiving bad news from my dealer. 2004 MSX150 with 48 hours on it and now the engine is done and needs to be rebuilt. He said the cylinder sleeves have moved and there is oil in the turbo so it may be gone too.

Being a engine newbie I really don't know what that means but dealer is saying $4-5k to rebuild. His suggestion was to sell it to someone who can rebuild it themselves or part it out because it isn't worth rebuilding the Weber engine.

So my question is would it be worth rebuilding or sourcing another engine? Would I have a good machine in the end or will I always be worrying about something else happening down the road? Or should I just take whatever I can get for it and move on to a machine that is still being made with more reliability?

I like Polaris in general and have several Polaris atv's but I am truly disappointed in this machine. I thought it was top of the line.

Any input would be helpful. Thanks.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk

There are a number of other members here who have faced similar decisions. Weber engine rebuilds are expensive, but when it is running properly, it is a good PWC.

The MSX hull was one of the best hulls Polaris made. The MSX 140 model came with a fuel injected 2-stroke engine, and the MSX 110 and MSX 150 came with the Weber 4-stroke turbo engine.

2004 was the first year for the Weber engine in Polaris PWC, and Polaris stopped selling PWC after the 2004 model year.

Unfortunately, the Weber engines at that time had some weaknesses. Polaris has continued to use the Weber engine in some snowmobiles, and reliability has improved.

A properly rebuilt Weber engine should be fairly reliable, especially if the updates and modifications that are now available are applied to the rebuild.