Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Newb

95 WaveRaider over heated?

Hi. I am sorry my first post is a "help me post" but I am a newbie and don't really have much experience to share (yet). So here's what happened. A friend was riding the jetski and she said what looked like smoke started coming out from under the seat and the ski shut down. It got towed to the shore and when I opened up the hatch, i saw the flush kit hose on the floor and there was some dark colored discoloration on the top of the block along with some burned plastic smell. Now, the ski will turn over on the trailer but if I let off on the throttle it runs harsh and cuts off. So here's my question, being a newbie that wants to learn, where should I start my checks (besides the repair shop). Thanks for any advice you can provide. I do have the service manual for this ski but I sure would like some advise from the experts on where I should start.

+1
    Are you sure you didn't have a hose come off....? The over-heat sensor would have came on limiting RPM's to 3k if it got hot if it's working and still installed. Check for a hose clamp that came off under the bucket and or a hole somewhere in the hoses under the bucket..or right at the bulkhead.

M

Newb
    Thanks for the reponse. I did not see any hose off but I will take a closer look when I get home. The only thing I did see was the hose that comes with the flush kit on the ground, leaving the little spigot open from the engine. As far as I know the, ski is stock with no mods so if it has an overheat sensor, then it didnt go off as the ski shut down and would not start back up.

+1
    Check for a hole in a hose...limp mode should have/would have worked limiting the ski's rpms to 3k to help protect it from frying.

M

my post didn`t post oh well try it again.
    Mine overheated a few weeks ago I had some debris get sucked into the pump. It plugged the hose that connects to the motor. We stopped blew it out it was fine after that.