95 Wave Venture 700 Help total newbie

Ok, total newbie to jet skis. Never even ridden on one before but it looks really fun so I thought I would pick up one used and do a little work, play around and learn about them. So I watched around and purchased a 95 Wave Venture WVT700 along with a 97 shuttle craft. This combo looked pretty cool. The guy I purchased it off of said that the last time he ran it he had issues and limped it back in. It needed some work.

After I got it, I tried to start it and it was all you could do to keep it running. Most of the time it would quit before you could get the water on. PS.. Should have walked away when he said he could make it run with ether. No lubrication on 2 cycle except what the pump is putting in.

I decided I would clean out the fuel tank, put an oil pump block off kit on it and mix my own gas (40 to 1), replace plugs, fuel filter and rebuild the carbs. All cables and points of contacts had just been lubed and looked like it was just serviced. Probably should have been another clue.

I performed all of the above tasks. It started right up after gas got to the carbs. I set the low and high needle valves per articles on the web for that model. It would idle and come up to full power. So I ran it 2 minutes with the water on. I noticed more fuel and mist coming up out of the back carb versus the front carb. I thought ok, this needs adjusted a little more than the front. Back high was turned out 1 1/8 turns and front was turned out 5/8 for starters.