No spark on a 99 slx 1050

I've never worked on a Polaris before, have Yamaha's myself but I've got a good friends SLX 1050. Compression checked out at about 123 psi, but I've got no spark. I have no manual so any help with what parts to check with some diagrams would be a great help.
    Thanks
    Bill

+1
    Bill,
    The battery may have enough power to turn the ski over but may not have enought to give it spark. Put the battery on the charger overnight and try it again.

Quote Originally Posted by BOATADDICT View Post
    Bill,
    The battery may have enough power to turn the ski over but may not have enought to give it spark. Put the battery on the charger overnight and try it again.
    I'll try that but I don't think that's the case. I've got it hooked to a large starter battery that came out of a diesel offshore boat,....... lots of cranking amps. Had a pretty stout charge on it, but it's possible your right. I'll check the voltage and put it on a charger.

Just checked the battery I was using...... it's showing 12.81 volts. Don't think that's it.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Fandini View Post
    Just checked the battery I was using...... it's showing 12.81 volts. Don't think that's it.
    Voltage means nothing. You have to test it with a load tester.

Gotcha! Will try something else tomorrow. Getting late here now. No suggestions on other things to check if the battery is not the problem?

+1
    Could also be the stator but that is a pain. Try the battery first.
    Other members on here are much more knowledgeable than me but these are things I have run into.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by Fandini View Post
    I've never worked on a Polaris before, have Yamaha's myself but I've got a good friends SLX 1050.

Compression checked out at about 123 psi, but I've got no spark.

I have no manual so any help with what parts to check with some diagrams would be a great help.