2009 FX SHO Upgrade/modification ladder

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to this forum - first post. I recently bought a 2009 SHO, and I've had it out twice. Overall I think it's wonderful. However, we humans are never satisfied so I've considered making a few upgrades to boost performance in certain areas. I remember the amazing difference an impeller replacement made on my old Ultra 150.

I'm looking primarily for acceleration and hook up, followed by top end (who isn't, right? haha).

However, I'm not a mechanic and would need a professional to do the work. So, if I was to make a few upgrades, where would be the best place to start to get the most bang for the buck? Then, where would be the best place to build upon that start to have the upgrades work with the most synergy?

The water I ride in typically is a mixture of light/medium chop, and some areas of flat/glass depending.

I hope over time to become more capable of doing things myself. Thank you all very much.
    Last edited by SHOskier; 09-10-2009 at 05:48 PM. Reason: One more thing

So Cal
    A good start would be to read the SHO/FZR mods database sticky above this thread. It'll get you an idea of what does what etc...

Northeast Indiana
    First step: Become a good friend to a mechanic (mine likes PBR and Captain--I always take some when working on a project). If you find one like mine, he will teach you how to do things that are over your (my) head.

Also, even though he is a friend, he still is a business owner so I throw some cash his way too.

Thank you both for your replies. I have checked out the thread that was mentioned and it is certainly interesting. Looks like people are having a wide range of success with mods/speed numbers.

I would love to befriend a good mechanice but am not sure how I will do that yet. The closest shop is 40 minutes from me and I know absolutely nobody with another ski right now. Hopefully I'll find that relationship sometime, though.