Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

higher quality crank bearings

looking into rebuilding a very low hour fresh water 720. problem is the crank bearings went. motor turns over about seven or so revolutions then stops. turn the crank the other direction it frees up. then can rotate it again for a few more revolutions then it stops again. rotary valve is off so thats not the issue. top end is removed so its not piston related. only thing we can come up with is the bearings came apart and gather in the race on one side of the bearing and cause it to bind the crank.
    I do not want a sbt crank, they are junk. so are hot rods cranks. Just wondering if there is a higher quality bearing that can be put on an oem seadoo crank.

Springfield, MO
    I've got a 787 with a trashed out crank. I'v been doing a little research into buying the bearing the crank. (I'm a line mechanic at a factory, so I deal with bearings and such on a fairly regular basis) On the parts breakdown it tells you what the bearing numbers are. It is something like 6203 or 6306 or something along those lines. You can get that bearing from most industrial suppliers, the only problem is that they are not for engines. Engine bearings are noted with C3 which means that the inner diameter is slightly bigger than normal to make up for the rapid heat expansion in the engine. RS or 2RS means that it is sealed on one side or both. ZZ or 2ZZ (?) means that is shielded on one side or both. Places you could try, Grianger, MSC Industrial Supply, IBT Bearings, ect... Let me know what you come up with!

If i knew,...I wouldn't ask sea-one's Avatar
    impressive"bearing" tip! I like it