Does this sound normal?

Does this enigne sound about right? I'm new to two-strokes and jet skis, so I need some input.
    Attached Files Attached Files

+1
    It sounds more or less normal for a 587/657/717 family of engine. There is a bit of rattle there at idle and it sounds a bit boggy when the throttle is blipped but that could just be the recording.

They do kind of have a rattle sound to them, though. They also sound different on the trailer since there is no load on the engine. Normally, if there is something wrong with a crank or wrist pin bearing it is quite obvious, and dramatic.

Have you done a compression check?

If the comp is good (you are looking for it to be within 10% on the two cylinders and depending on the engine somewhere in the 130 area, though do not get too wound up if it is lower as long as they are even) and it runs well on the water it is probably fine.

I did check the compression and if I remember right it was around 110 or so. That seemed a little low to me, but both cylinder were almost exactly the same. Being that both cylinders are the same, I wasn't to worried about it. That engine has sat for quite a while, so I've been a little skeptical of it. I've drained that old gas (it looked like apple juice), drained the oil and changed the pump oil. I've got Lucas semi-synthetic 2-stroke oil in it now. It's supposed to be pretty good stuff.

+1
    You can run mineral oil in that engine as long as it is AP-TCI and not TW-3.

I would run a can of fogging oil into it too just for craps and giggles. When one sits for that long (even if it was fogged) they can get some rust on the bearings. If you can give it a good lube before trying to use it you should have a better chance of avoiding any unpleasentness.