Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Riva air intake question.

    I started putting the air intake on this evening.O yea I have a 04 RXP.It does not say anything about removing the section of factory intake that is straped in with the gas tank. The instructions on their web site does not talk about this either.I am thinking if I remove this section then the gas tank will not be held down tight anymore ??? Can someone that put one of these on a 04 help me out here.

    Thanks


  2. #2
    AKA "The Guppy" JeffTurbo601's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    991
    even when removed the straps were more then tight enough on mine. just my .02

  3. #3
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reading PA
    Posts
    1,670
    there is a post on this issue somewhere that i have read, u can use some 4" PVC pipe to keep the straps tight if there not tight enough.

  4. #4
    mbaseball3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    stockton, ca
    Posts
    748
    +1
    21
    from the many of things you can learn here, just replace it with a 4 inch wide piece of pvc pipe

  5. #5
    West Texas RXP skoepp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    west texas
    Posts
    12,019
    +1
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by sylvan View Post
    I started putting the air intake on this evening.O yea I have a 04 RXP.It does not say anything about removing the section of factory intake that is straped in with the gas tank. The instructions on their web site does not talk about this either.I am thinking if I remove this section then the gas tank will not be held down tight anymore ??? Can someone that put one of these on a 04 help me out here.

    Thanks
    If you remove it and its loose you can use something in its place to take up the slack or rerun the straps.

    I dont think it is a problem to leave it other then clutter.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3790.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	701.7 KB 
ID:	153322  

  6. #6
    formerly Gold06RXP Turbo Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,095
    +1
    97
    Just remove the air intake and put the starps back on. It will be fine

  7. #7
    I left my front section in place.....didn't worry about the bungies being loose...and still had a pretty good spot for the rectifier.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Plainfield, IL
    Posts
    1,237
    +1
    10
    I left mine in place. It make everything look complete plug the rectifier stays in the OEM spot. It barely weighs anything so why take it out.

  9. #9
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    4" PVC pipe works great
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF2556.JPG 
Views:	49 
Size:	2.56 MB 
ID:	153348  

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Riva RXP-X 300 Power Filter air intake question
    By Water4fire in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 06-28-2016, 07:36 PM
  2. riva air intake question
    By rearviewneons in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 05:13 PM
  3. Riva rear air intake question
    By WBoulton in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 04:22 PM
  4. Riva vs r&d rideplate, air intake questions
    By 007GPR08 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 10:06 AM
  5. 3" Riva air intake question
    By Mccoy in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2008, 11:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •