just a little help

hey everyone, I am new to pwc's recently got an slt 700 that had been standing for over 4 years, got her all cleaned , new gas, oil battery etc and had her in the water a couple of times, unfortunately don't have any manuals so being new have some questions.
    1) is it right that to test start it you should not turn on the water until it starts and if so how long can you run it with the water on?
    2) Is the bilge pump purely for removing water from the hull, I see other skis with a jet coming out the back when they are on the water, my 700 doesn't have anything, the pump starts when you hit the start switch, is this right ?
    3) can anyone tell me how to check the fuel guage, it doesnt ever read more than 1/4 and goes back to empty when it runs

you help would be appreciated, I love the polaris and want to keep her running

+1
    (2)the jet you are seeing is small right? the one that comes out of back of other skis? that is a yamaha ski! only those skis have that and its just for show. and when you start the ski it will move there is no gear for a true "neutral" but if you have reverse you will have a neutral that keeps the jetski from moving.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by stuart0212 View Post
    1) is it right that to test start it you should not turn on the water until it starts and if so how long can you run it with the water on?
    Sequence is;
    Engine start, then water on
    Water off, then engine off

You can idle/run without water for 10-20 seconds at a time.

With water hose connected
    , maximum run time is two minutes, and preferably one minute. Reason is the drive shaft and impeller shaft seals are cooled only when the hull is actually floating in water.

2) Is the bilge pump purely for removing water from the hull,
    Yes
    It will run whenever the engine is running, but only discharge water if there is any in the hull to pump out.