Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Overheating Question

First off cracking site, im new to jet ski's as this will be my first one

Ive been offered a Polaris 780 SLT for 400quid with a over heating issue

It runs for 10mins and starts to over heat, the guy is aderment that the ski runs fine just overheats after 10mins, he said it turns over fine etc

Ive searched on here and seen issues with sensors etc, my concern is if that it over heats after 10mins am i looking at a engine rebuild??

Any suggestions would be great, many thanks
    Neil

+1
    Welcome to the hulk..

Check item #9 it is a small orifice with a screen.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Check that none of the cooling hoses are kinked, or collapsed internally. Check that the hoses have not been incorrectly connected

Remove the thermostat housing (item 23), and check that neither the pressure bypass plunger (20), nor the thermostat itself (21), are clogged or worn/damaged.

Also check that the water inlet screen, which is inside the jet pump exit nozzle, is not clogged. There is a sturdy plastic tube that runs along the right side of the jet pump, running forward from the nozzle side to the pump base. Make sure it is not broken or damaged.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk.

If it's been overheated a few times, there may be some internal damage. Possibly bearing, ring or piston.

See if you can perform a compression test. Then remove all the sparkplugs and the black plastic cover at the back of the engine. Try turning the crank by hand, and see if it makes any noise. It should roll prestty easily. (some resistence from the flywheel magnets is normal)

cheers for the input guys

Im picking the ski up on saturday fingers crossed its cool

It does run rev etc, sounds healthy enough.

It does seems a bit bunged up through out so a good clean and degunk checking the pipes etc

fingers crossed