Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

New guy really confused...RXP-X mod help

Hey Gents-

This is my first post here and I look forward to learning alot. Please forgive me for such a long post.

Before the responses of "SEARCH," etc. begin, let me say that I have searched and read numerous threads, but to be honest I'm still really confused.

Here's my situation. I've got the RXP-X and my neighbor just got a RXP. We went out the other day and they were just about dead even in the top speed department, though I confess I'm not experienced enough to know the optimum VTS setting for top speed. I did some reading and it seems that despite what the innaccurate speedo on the boat says, both of them top out at a similar 65-67 mph from the factory.

So I'm obviously looking to pick up a few MPH and would be happy with around 72ish on the GPS. I want enough that if I'm behind, I can catch up even if he's flat out.

Now here's where I get confused. I've been reading up on possible modifications and one of the most popular seems to be a new intake grate. It seems though that if you do this, you will pickup top speed but sacrifice acceleration out of the hole...is this the case??

The other modification that I see alot is a 4 inch air intake. Seems to me though that it exposes you to the possibility of hydro-lock, as seen so often in cars with CAIs. I mean, if you roll the ski or something and it gets alot of water in there before shutting off, seems like it could be a problem.

Also, with regards to the intake grate...I ride my ski in the ocean alot, in heavy swells so I would need it to have comperable or better pickup than the stock grate.

I don't really want to spend a fortune on modifying this thing and to be honest, the REVO stuff as nice it is seems really expensive. But if that's what I need to get, so be it.

What do you guys recommend for me? Please try to explain your recommendations to me as best you can. It took me a while just to find out what OPAS stands for...

+1