HELP: Splitting crankcase & how to clean parts properly

I am ready to split the crankcase on my 650.

what is the best way to actually do that, once the bottom bolts are removed? the manual just says do it, but it doesn't say how, and now is not the time for an amateur to half-ass it.

other questions:

what is the best way to clean out the water passages? they are in severe need of cleaning.

what should I be using to clean the parts in general? the manual says to use solvent, but that's pretty vague. remember, I have never done anything like this before, so please do not assume simple info will be known.

+1
    http://www.sbtontheweb.com/pdfs/p650750780.pdf
    This should answer just about all your questions rebuilding your 650. Nice pictures and descriptions. Even with RED arrows to help even more.
    Depends how deep your getting into this project. Some guys take off all the rubber and paper gaskets and soak the metal parts in carb cleaner. You can buy a gallon container of it.
    Some even take all the paint off the parts with stripper and re-paint also. Some cleaners will take off the blue paint!. Carb cleaner spray or even brake clean works well for getting debris out of orfices.
    Compressed air would work well also. Just be sure to remove all the paper and gaskets and diaphrams and rubber nipples off stuff before spraying or soaking things. some even use small wire to clean out tiny orfices if plugged. use soft metal like a strand of copper wire for small stuff so it wont scratch anything.
    Then, if you like, you could wrap parts in terry cloth as you go spraying everything WD-40 as you go to prevent rusting. Actually the cases are fine, they are aluminum!. Most parts on the ski are!. Just the crank really along with any metal parts from the carb.
    Double check that all the bolts are out of the cases before you split them. even hidden ones! Count the bolts against the pictures in the PDF>