Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

No Spark 01 Polaris Virage Carb

Hey I'm new to the Watercraft world and to this forum, I need some help on a 2001 Polaris Virage Carb with no spark. At first the battery was low charged it up and was working fine again. Now the Battery is ok fully charged but no spark at all. I did some reading and haven't tested out the stator yet but I'm leaning to the CDI box. I bought it used so I don't know if this unit I have is part of the bulletin or one of the old bad CDI designed. Any helps or tips on this issue, Thanks!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

If there is any question about the battery health (not the charge level), replace the battery. These CDI do not deliver spark if the battery is not really strong.

Technically, the CDI needs to receive more than 10.5 volts while the engine is cranking.

There is no update kit for the 2000-2004 models.

If you still have no spark with a strong battery, and the lanyard in place, try this;

Hold down the bilge button -you should hear the bilge pump humming.
    Keep holding the bilge button down, and crank the engine.
    Does it start, or give a strong spark?

I'll try that out tomorrow when I get a chance and tell you the results, Thanks.

No spark at all.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Amuro View Post
    No spark at all.
    More detail please.

Did the bilge pump run?

Sorry, Bilge pump works fine, it turns and you can here it. Engine cranks over fine but still no spark at all.

+1
    Sorry, Bilge pump works fine, it turns and you can here it. Engine cranks over fine but still no spark at all.
    Well then, you need to do further investigation.

Open the electrical box, find the CDI. Without unplugging anything, measure the voltage between the CDI's Red/Purple wire and the CDI Black wire. While the engine is cranking, that voltage must jump to over 10.5 volts.