Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Has anyone done a wedge back to back for top speed?

I canít see the difference running a wedge or moving the pivot location for an additional 2-degree nozzle trim is there? When you run a wedge were do you set the trim? Mine has no hook and runs best 2 bars down from top and wonder if the wedge would make a difference in speed.

+1
    Craig, the wedge is good for 1 mph on my setup. I say give it a shot and see what happens.

Gotta love this sport! 05Limited's Avatar
    +1
    Craig,

I wondered about this also, until I studied it closer. With a wedge you have an entire pump assembly of pressurized water being released in a "straight" path out of a venturi that has already been tilted 2 or 2.5 degrees. The steering nozzle is then used for just that... steering (and we all know that turning a ski will slow it down). With VTS, the pressurized water is being released "straight" through the venturi and then "diverted" upward by the steering nozzle. Now the steering nozzle is being used to not only steer the ski, but to change the pitch of the ski. This can be a good thing to a point, but eventually the increased angle creates an inefficient turbulance that overcomes the benefit of lifting the hull.

We all know that decreasing a hull's wetted surface by trimming up usually yields more speed. However, over trimming may create an inefficient diversion of water that circumvents the benefits of freeing the hull.

It would seem more prudent to tilt a bowl of pressurized water (wedge plate) and then release it in it's intended direction, than to release the pressurized water and then try and divert it.