Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

This is an odd question, but...

I am totally new to being a garage mechanic and working on engines and such. therefore I have never had a need for all the various tools and chemicals and such that go with rebuilding, cleaning, and all that for a pwc.

my father died last year in a freak house fire apparently caused by rags used in and around various chemicals and left in a pile on the floor.

now, I have a growing collection of rags and chemicals, and it occurred to me at this weird hour of the morning that perhaps I should be concerned.

this may be a totally dumb question, and I am sorry but I have to ask: how do I clean the rags? do I clean them?

I look around and see stuff like wd-40, silicone and lithium sprays, gasket remover and sealer, pentrating oil, fogging oil, degreaser, paint spraycan, sta-bil, probaly some other stuff. over on the other end of the garage I have gas and propane.

I am sure these rags have bits of a bunch of this stuff on them by now...soooo, now what? I would rather look ignorant and ask a dumb question than have my family unsafe.

you can wash them , or throw them out . but keeping in a well ventalated place is one thing that you should always do . this keeps fumes from building up , and will help prevent a fire .

if you have a large pile and want to clean them for reuse , i suggest going to a coin operated washing station , so as to prevent chemicals from cross contaminating your machine and your family's clothing !!

personally i would just toss them if they are to bad !!

thanks for the reply.

while I agree I don't really want to wash them in my own machine, I would feel awkward about passing the "cross-contanimation" on to someone else's family...is there something I could add to the laundry to "neutralize" that kind of thing, or should I just stop being a cheap ass and throw them away?

HOT Water as hot as u can get it and lots of Tide We used to clean the dirty shop floor with Tide