Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Riva ECU

  1. #1
    rick xp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,013
    +1
    7

    Riva ECU

    Hey guys just got a quick question.

    Just recieved my new Riva ECU and the cheeky darkys havent even pulled off the OEM sticker behind the Riva sticker.

    Now im feeling a bit hard done here because i now have a stock ecu that could have been reprogrammed and done the same thing.

    Why dont Riva just offer a reprograming service?

    Why do they have to use a whole new ECU?

    Surely we should have the option?


  2. #2
    Overcenter76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    St. Cloud, Florida
    Posts
    18
    It would be nice if their was a Hondata, BinkiRom, EFI Live equivalent for for the SeaDoo ECU. I would prefer to tune the ECU myself vurses sending it into someone for a "stage X reflash". The Motec is a great ECU, but I can't aford a M800 for my car let alone my jetski. I feel a bit frustrated with the situation too.

  3. #3
    Eric Ocman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cataula, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,700
    +1
    77
    So does Riva just reprogram stock ECU's and sell them?

  4. #4
    JFizzleJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    8,628
    +1
    808
    Quote Originally Posted by rick xp View Post
    Hey guys just got a quick question.

    Just recieved my new Riva ECU and the cheeky darkys havent even pulled off the OEM sticker behind the Riva sticker.

    Now im feeling a bit hard done here because i now have a stock ecu that could have been reprogrammed and done the same thing.

    Why dont Riva just offer a reprograming service?

    Why do they have to use a whole new ECU?

    Surely we should have the option?
    I felt the exact same way. But I realized that Riva put hard work, testing, and dyno time into that ECU. What you are paying for is their proprietary skills and time and effort. I suppose the only other viable option is seeing if Les Cooke will sell you one of his ECU's. If someone else wants to figure out how to do it cheaper, they might get a decent amount of customers. But first it must seem obtainable and 'worth it' for that person. Powerchip tried it and failed with the customer service end of it. Not sure about the performance part. And now they're out of the picture. Just my .02.

  5. #5
    Fastest in my cove sfackett0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sparrows Point, MD (near the Key Bridge)
    Posts
    1,000
    +1
    22
    what ever happened to the re-flash program/vendor. I remember we were all talking about it like 6-9 months ago, someone had some issues with one of them and I havent heard anything since then.

  6. #6
    rick xp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,013
    +1
    7
    Yeah what pisses me off that i wish i could just send my OEM ECU instead of me paying the cost for a new one.

    I would happily pay $800 or whatever and send my ECU than having to buy a new OEM ECU and then putting my stock on the shelf.

  7. #7
    formerly Gold06RXP Turbo Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,095
    +1
    97
    that was power chip. they never did work right i guess so Jerry pulled them from the store
    Quote Originally Posted by sfackett0 View Post
    what ever happened to the re-flash program/vendor. I remember we were all talking about it like 6-9 months ago, someone had some issues with one of them and I havent heard anything since then.

  8. #8
    R88ory RXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    2,737
    +1
    46
    I think the best option as far as using the stock ECU is to send it to Les he has done hundreds of them.

    He can also tailor a map depending on your mods although you will still have to tune to get the best out of it. He has different rev limits, can have it mapped for 42s or 60s. There are alot of benifits over the Riva ECU, only down side is the cost of shipping from AUS which isnt cheap coz Les only uses DHL.

    If you want a bolt on (ish) kit then get the whole riva stage 3 package and you will have a fast ski that is made up of parts that have been tested to work together. If you want something different then pick all your parts then have a chat with Les and get something worked out for your requirments. R88

  9. #9
    Nonstop, all day, everyday. 01xdime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    3,682
    +1
    1
    God forbid we would get anything like efi live that we could share tunes and tweak things.

  10. #10
    Eric Ocman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cataula, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,700
    +1
    77
    That would rock!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. B-kit using Riva Ecu
    By rxpdoo in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 09:06 AM
  2. Riva Ecu
    By luismendez25 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-13-2006, 08:54 PM
  3. Do you guys think Rivas ECU will be milder than Rotaxs
    By excess in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 07:57 PM
  4. Riva ECU
    By idizzy in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 02:02 PM
  5. RR Racing ECU vs. Riva ECU
    By johnD in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-30-2006, 06:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •