Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2002 Genisis Backfiring

I posted about this a long time ago, but now winter is here and I can play with it again.

Bought 2002 genesis I 1200 2 years ago. After kids ran it into the weeds the engine was cooked and had to be rebuilt. Local marine shop rebuilt, and installed new EMM due to instant "EMM overheat" code being false triggered (It was decided the lack of cooling that destroyed the engine damaged the EMM). After 4 hours on the new engine it has become hard start (labors turning over, like out of time, turns over fine with out sparkplugs in) and when does start backfires (split the muffler end to end, that now needs welding). Another shop said shody engine job and rebuilt top end. Same problem. Have taken things into my own hands. I am a mechanic but am still learning this marine stuff. This is what I have done.

1) new battery, cleaned all connections at batt and block, solenoid, starter. Tested batt @ crank, maintains approx. 10.2 volts
    2) replaced, gapped, indexed spark plugs
    3) Checked fuel pressure, 25 psi crank and running
    4) Pulled mag, covers, flywheel key intact, no flywheel damaged
    5) with mag cover off, checked crank indexing, all pistons @ TDC exactly 120 deg apart
    6) Tested all stator (magneto) windings, all within resistance specs
    7) Injector voltage = 22V cranking, 45 V running
    Capacitor bleeds down nice and slow
    9) Ign primary around 200V cranking, all connected, @ each coil using an occilosocpe
    10) Tested engine position sensor (193 ohms), but replaced with known good anyways (from my 2002 Virage I, polaris parts says they are the same)
    11) Buddy works at local Polaris dealership (they dont/have never done watercraft, can't even get parts for them) so we built a cable and connected digital wrench,
    TPS reads 0.816V/6.9% at idle, 3.710V/94.7% @ WOT, smooth transition