Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    I'D RATHER SWEAT THAN SHIVER hyoctane23's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,976
    +1
    34

    Why does my TV do this...

    It is an LCD television that is a few years old. When I first turn it on, it will be okay for about 10-15 minutes...and then suddenly start to scramble. Sometimes it will scramble for a good half hour, sometimes only a few minutes, and then it is okay. At least for a while, then it does it all over again.

    The weird thing is if I change the input, there are letters in the upper right hand corner that pop up that let me know what input is selected...but that doesn't scramble??

    See attached video. I'm sure you all will say time for a new TV but maybe there is something simple causing this??

    EDIT: It does it with DVDs, cable, and my XBox.
    Attached Files Attached Files


  2. #2
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,597
    +1
    1,276
    Does it also do this on other inputs, like when playing a DVD?

    Does it fix itself if you switch inputs, then switch back to the tuner?

    What signal are you feeding it?
    Cable TV, or antenna?
    Digital or analog channels?

  3. #3
    I'D RATHER SWEAT THAN SHIVER hyoctane23's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,976
    +1
    34
    It does it regardless if I use my DVD, cable, or xbox. No change if I turn it off..sometimes makes it worse. It also has an input for VGA and it still does it.

  4. #4
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,597
    +1
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by hyoctane23 View Post
    It does it regardless if I use my DVD, cable, or xbox. No change if I turn it off..sometimes makes it worse. It also has an input for VGA and it still does it.
    Sounds like it is done for.

    Since you have nothing to lose, I would open up the back (unplug the power cord first), and check every plug and connector inside the case for looseness.

    Focus on the connectors nearest where the connectors from the back panel first join the electronics board, and nearby connections.

    You might get lucky and find a loose or dirty connection that just needs a wiggle.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    spelling police HAZE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    846
    +1
    3
    You might want to check the back wires, sometimes an electric wire can cause interference if the video wire is too close. That or your TV is haunted.

  6. #6
    Banned User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Lake Havasu
    Posts
    2,924
    +1
    27
    Do you have a surround sound speaker system, and maybe the center speaker on top of the TV, or large, unshielded speakers near the TV?? Large magnets inside speakers can cause strange patterns to appear on a TV.

    Other than that, I'd trash it and go buy a new one.

  7. #7
    Video processor card in the TV is going poop.
    What brand unit is your.
    If its a Samsung or Sony then its a card swap.
    Regardless its best to have a repair man come out and fix it. When ours do that out of warranty its about a $500 part.


    If your using a Surround sound receiver to do your video switching then the problem may be that video processor. We have seen the "Upconvertors to HDMI" have this same issue.

    Try hooking up with HDMI directly to the source. HDMI is different then the RCA feed as it reads digital and has a different route of processing the signal.

  8. #8
    I'D RATHER SWEAT THAN SHIVER hyoctane23's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,976
    +1
    34
    It is a Westinghose. I didn't buy it as it was given to me because of the proiblem it hasm

    I have to try out something with HDMI. I think my xbox has an HDMI output.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Why does my xlt 1200 do this?
    By Yamahakid in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-03-2013, 06:49 AM
  2. so why does my carbon ring look like this?
    By 98gsxl951 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-11-2012, 07:14 AM
  3. why does my ski lose fuel pressure when i turn it off?
    By samui in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-18-2012, 03:11 AM
  4. why does my seadoo have a valve on the waterbox?
    By SteveHuffman in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 09:14 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •