1992 vxr Barbie ski newbie question

Total newbie alert. I bought a tragic 1992 Barbie pink VXR 650 with a lot of problems. I have only 4-stroke big block/small block experience.

Here is the scoop:
    • Heat sensor was missing and looks like it got really hot
    • 60 PSI exactly on both cylinders
    • Intermediate shaft bearing oiler was broken off. Bearing failed and ejected into the shield.
    Couple of questions. The head is brown. Is it possible the head got warped or blew out the gasket instead of the whole engine being bad? How can you eliminate the head (I don’t think you can do a leak-down test on 2 strokes)? I put oil on the piston top and still got 60 PSI.

Could it be the bearing slowing down the cranking? Or is it always a “top end kit” for this condition?

Can I just replace the std. bore pistons or do you always have to bore it up?
    Any input is welcome!

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1070339.JPG 
Views:	64 
Size:	3.27 MB 
ID:	160245   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1070343.JPG 
Views:	78 
Size:	3.09 MB 
ID:	160246   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1070340.JPG 
Views:	65 
Size:	3.16 MB 
ID:	160247  

Anderson, Indiana
    Man o man.....I would say get out the checkbook. I would pull the head and look inside the bores to see what you can see in there. If it got that hot, it's possible that is has crank bearing damage on and on. It maybe easier to just get a used 701 and install it in there. You can bore/hone and put a top end on it if needed however, the crank is likely shot if it got that hot. I would get out the 10, 12's and a few beers and yank that engine out to see what's going on in there.