2001 XP engine questions

I am a complete Noob to the world of jetskis besides a few rental rides that got me hooked. I found a 2001 xp with a blown engine. as far as the hull and other components they are in tip top shape. my question for you is how hard will it be to get this ski on the water? Im in love with the sport with very limited funds. I guess my second question is, would it be better for me to hold out and find a little it older ski that is in working order, or is this engine swap doable, and worth it for a true beginners first ski?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by i3urtonfeind View Post
    I am a complete Noob to the world of jetskis besides a few rental rides that got me hooked. I found a 2001 xp with a blown engine. as far as the hull and other components they are in tip top shape. my question for you is how hard will it be to get this ski on the water? Im in love with the sport with very limited funds. I guess my second question is, would it be better for me to hold out and find a little it older ski that is in working order, or is this engine swap doable, and worth it for a true beginners first ski?
    It depends on what you pay for the ski. Personally I would say around $500-$700 for the ski if it was in good condition and cosmetically sound. Then I would figure around $1800 for motor work and carb rebuilding, new fuel lines, and such and you would be in around $2,500 for a ski worth $3500 or so.

They were one of the most popular skis in the world, fun to ride, nice power and pretty reliable if taken care of. You wouldn't be making a bad choice at all.

Quote Originally Posted by 1 FAST VE View Post
    It depends on what you pay for the ski. Personally I would say around $500-$700 for the ski if it was in good condition and cosmetically sound. Then I would figure around $1800 for motor work and carb rebuilding, new fuel lines, and such and you would be in around $2,500 for a ski worth $3500 or so.