Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Watercraft Newb

Watercraft Newb

Hey how's it going everyone. I live down here in south FL and am new to the PWC crowd. I bought a 95 polaris 650 SL a few months back and now I found out the other day the engine is blown. So being its all apart I'm doing alot of research on engine swaps, changing heads out, pipes, etc... But I can really find out to much info or even some places that sell performance parts. I would say I'm looking to spend about $1,000 - $1400. Now this would just be in parts as I do mechanic work for a living. Any input from you guys would be great!!!

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk.

There is lots of info in the projects section.
    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=104

FAQ section.
    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=101

Also a must browse>> http://polarispwcknowledge.shorturl.com/

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

There are several other SL650 projects currently underway by other members.

Some are in the Polaris Projects forum;

1993 SL650 Engine Rebuild - Could use help in here

94' SL650 project

Canadian SL Project

Lots of good info in the Polaris General Discussion Area

Click my signature below for a good starting point

The general consensus is that the SL650 is not a good engine for a performance project. Polaris used several versions of the Fuji engine, and the 750cc motor is a common upgrade from the 650. Primary differences are the cylinders and pistons.

A little more work (not that much) gets you into the 780cc engine. That is the upper end for straightforward Fuji engine upgrades. You can go bigger, but it becomes a lot more work, and expense.

The usual advise is to either part out or fix up your current machine, in near stock form.