Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

GP1200R backfire

Seasons greetings again guys.

I've read enough posts thru the search but just want to confirm a few things with you all.

As a background on the ski and me, I'm new to 2-Strokes completely and carbs and carb tuning etc.. so some of the advice on adding T-handles when I changed the D-plate went over my head. I purchased a 00' GP1200R that was running but had no top end, motor was shaky/rattling under no load on the trailer and making plenty noise, when in the water, would get to about 4500rpm and die, hard starting wasnt an issue. Long story short, all the pistons were smashed, and ended up taking it to a local guy to do a top end rebuild and had the carbs cleaned.

Now, I've put 4 hours and 1 1/4 tanks of fuel on the ski since the rebuild. The first full tank was 50:1 premix + oil injection and I kept it under 5K rpm but varied the throttle under load, and let it cool down for about 20mins after a 20min ride until the tank was exhausted. I took it out today on the lake for a quick run and got it up to 7K rpm @ 48mph on the display.

The three issues that I have noticed with the full tank with 50:1 premix:
    1. Hard starting when the engine is warm...I noticed this after the last 3 fuel bars on the display (fouled plugs?)
    2. Engine was stalling out under load. I could not get the boat out of the hole at any decent rate. I had to drag her out and onto plane, but once at about 4-4.5 she could plane and look decent at 5K
    3. There was a backfire or deep pop coming out of the exhaust once I had it onto plane or while holding the throttle at about 35-40% to get the 4-5K rpm

Now that I had all the fuel exhausted as per the factory breakin procedure, I did not have a chance to swap out the fuel filter, but I just used straight gas in the tank (no premix) and relied on the oil injection to supply the oil.

Under this setup, with new plugs, I had no start issues, but still had 2 and 3 from above.