Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Close to the Caribbean
    Posts
    608
    +1
    1

    Is Yamaha keeping vin info in their FZR ECUs?

    Is Yamaha keeping vin info in their FZR ECUs?

    Want to make sure I can swap my soon to be reflashed ecu with a stock one if I ever need some warranty work.


  2. #2
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by 556SBR View Post
    Is Yamaha keeping vin info in their FZR ECUs?

    Want to make sure I can swap my soon to be reflashed ecu with a stock one if I ever need some warranty work.

    I would think the the ECU serial is tied to the hull or engine if anything for warranty reasons...

  3. #3
    I wanna go fast perk_1405's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    winnabow, nc
    Posts
    202
    i would think it will be like getting a ecu flashed in anything else. normally u can get urs flashed or buy another one to have flashed and get the vin number flashed in as well.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Central North Carolina
    Posts
    3,847
    +1
    528
    I don't think they are vin coded I have swithced them on gpr's w/o a problem. You can order a new ecm from yamaha parts and just plug it in and go, no special registration or vin required!

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Close to the Caribbean
    Posts
    608
    +1
    1
    Anyone has the answer to the question other than speculation.

  6. #6
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    I think if they aren't already keeping vin info they might start after seeing this thread. lolz

  7. #7
    Boilerman Bill BPnta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Yulee, FL
    Posts
    887
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 556SBR View Post
    Is Yamaha keeping vin info in their FZR ECUs?

    Want to make sure I can swap my soon to be reflashed ecu with a stock one if I ever need some warranty work.
    Even if VIN info isn't kept, anyone who hooks the ECU up to the YDIS will be able to tell it's not the same. The "total operating time" is also stored on the ECU. Not to mention there is a diagnostic code history saved in the ECU, and apparently there is some sort "recorded data" as well that might raise a few flags.

    Just save the $1000. Don't worry. It's a Yammi
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled1.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	56.7 KB 
ID:	170128  

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Close to the Caribbean
    Posts
    608
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BPnta View Post
    Even if VIN info isn't kept, anyone who hooks the ECU up to the YDIS will be able to tell it's not the same. The "total operating time" is also stored on the ECU. Not to mention there is a diagnostic code history saved in the ECU, and apparently there is some sort "recorded data" as well that might raise a few flags.

    Just save the $1000. Don't worry. It's a Yammi
    Already paid for the warranty, I will have another stock ecu so I only care about the VIN number no matching with my ski.

  9. #9
    Boilerman Bill BPnta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Yulee, FL
    Posts
    887
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 556SBR View Post
    Already paid for the warranty, I will have another stock ecu so I only care about the VIN number no matching with my ski.
    Well if you don't want them accessing the info on it, throw it in the microwave for about 5 minutes.

  10. #10
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by BPnta View Post
    Well if you don't want them accessing the info on it, throw it in the microwave for about 5 minutes.

    Pop goes the weasel

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Who is running a 160mm Solas on their FZR?
    By MPower in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2013, 10:02 PM
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 09:59 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-19-2009, 10:23 AM
  4. Where is the oil bleed screw in a Yamaha XLT 1200 WaveRunner
    By mmr11408 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-07-2008, 01:32 PM
  5. What is this? Skat Setback pump, in a OEM Yamaha Stator??
    By boostaholic in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 11:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •