Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Netherlands antilles / Bonaire
    Posts
    137
    +1
    4

    possible to run without thermostat?

    is it possible to run without an thermostat in the thermostat housing..
    I live in the south carribean.. so the temp is always hi arround here..
    Because i thought.. my ski would need al the cooling that is possible..
    please give me your oppinion..
    greetz


  2. #2
    JFizzleJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    8,628
    +1
    808
    Yes, but I think you'll find it isn't the best method to acheive what you're trying to do. At a minimum, you would need a temperature gauge. I would lean more towards the rotax 131 degree thermostat or an open loop kit.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Netherlands antilles / Bonaire
    Posts
    137
    +1
    4

    thanks

    just trying to figure it out..
    dont know wich effect the thermostat had on the distribution within the therostathousing..
    because i think when you take the thermostat away.. it would cool more..

  4. #4
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Crest Hill, IL
    Posts
    9,512
    +1
    215
    Too much cooling will not allow both the oil and block proper operating temp...

  5. #5
    Richieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia.
    Posts
    1,001
    My SUV had that disease. Cacked up the hydraulic lifters, and they rattled like hell.

    Gauge was telling lies about temp of the engine, and economy was lousy.

    ECU was all the time trying to heat up the engine, so it ran like a three-legged dog too.

  6. #6
    Prohibido usuario
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Jerry's guest bedroom
    Posts
    3,469
    +1
    2
    I don't think you would have any problems. It would take a few minutes longer for the engine to reach operating temp but after that a 131 thermo would stay open constantly in your conditions. Danny did some testing of the different cooling methods and I surmised from his numbers that the thermo is pretty much useless. Do like the open loop guys and install a ball valve on the hose going to the ride plate and you can fine tune the temps.

    Danny, didn't you test a stock thermo and a Riva and the numbers showed that once they reached operating temps both ski's were the same temp or was that someone else? Got the link to that testing you did?

    I think the oil needs to reach 180f for the engine to be at optimal operating temp. That is the number I have stuck in my head but I may be wrong. Keep in mind the oil will be hotter than the water.

  7. #7
    Pauly C. Small Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL, United States
    Posts
    678
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Richieb View Post
    My SUV had that disease. Cacked up the hydraulic lifters, and they rattled like hell.

    Gauge was telling lies about temp of the engine, and economy was lousy.

    ECU was all the time trying to heat up the engine, so it ran like a three-legged dog too.

    HEY! I have a 3 legged dog, and he's just as fast as my 4 legged model.

  8. #8
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Crest Hill, IL
    Posts
    9,512
    +1
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by NCHeel View Post
    I don't think you would have any problems. It would take a few minutes longer for the engine to reach operating temp but after that a 131 thermo would stay open constantly in your conditions. Danny did some testing of the different cooling methods and I surmised from his numbers that the thermo is pretty much useless. Do like the open loop guys and install a ball valve on the hose going to the ride plate and you can fine tune the temps.

    Danny, didn't you test a stock thermo and a Riva and the numbers showed that once they reached operating temps both ski's were the same temp or was that someone else? Got the link to that testing you did?

    I think the oil needs to reach 180f for the engine to be at optimal operating temp. That is the number I have stuck in my head but I may be wrong. Keep in mind the oil will be hotter than the water.


    WTF you talking about Rodney!

    I tested the cooling ability of the ride plate and compared it to various heat exchangers, thus allowing people to run a different internal heat exchanger and utilize the Open Loop plates to gain handling and speed...while retaining the closed loop cooling.

    Open Loop cooling has been the hot topic the last several months, with individuals having issues either getting to or maintaining decent operating temps. Even Riva included a small thermostat to regulate the water flow through the block to obtain proper temps.

  9. #9
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Crest Hill, IL
    Posts
    9,512
    +1
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by Richieb View Post
    My SUV had that disease. Cacked up the hydraulic lifters, and they rattled like hell.

    Gauge was telling lies about temp of the engine, and economy was lousy.

    ECU was all the time trying to heat up the engine, so it ran like a three-legged dog too.


    The A/F ratio was very rich, and my cat's breathe smells like cat food...

  10. #10
    Prohibido usuario
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Jerry's guest bedroom
    Posts
    3,469
    +1
    2
    Danny, didn't you test a stock setup though. It was a while back so I can't remember. I probably saw your data and somebody elses and put 2 and 2 together. I would like to see you test a stocker and a Riva thermo and see if there is any difference once they reach operating temp. Your tests are always thorough.

    You don't have to test today as I bet it is kinda cold in your neck of the woods.

    I know the open loop needs a thermo since it is so efficient. I am talking closed loop only. I wouldn't run a thermo if I had an open loop though due to the large variances in temp but rather meter the flow of water with a valve and adjust it for changing conditions. In open loop I feel a water temp gauge is a must.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to run an 03' Gtx 185 ECM in a 04' 215?
    By nickireson in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2012, 09:15 PM
  2. Is it possible to run E85 on the SHO engine with a ecu?
    By 556SBR in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 01:27 AM
  3. Is it possible to run too lean with the factory boost limiter?
    By tsho in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 08:22 AM
  4. To run a thermostat or not ???
    By virageracer in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-04-2006, 07:35 PM
  5. Running without thermostat
    By blingbling06 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-22-2006, 07:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •