2002 gp1200r with no catalytic converter

MY uncle took the catalytic converter off his ski so he would not have to run semi synthetic is this a bad move and will it affect the longevity. What oil would you recommend using for this machine now. it is all stock

FIRST your post is very confusing, SECOND try the search tab you will be amazed at all you find, THIRD you cant take the cat out without using a d-plate and taking out the cat is a great idea it wont harm anything all the ski's shipped overseas had a d-plate instead of a cat. from Yamaha. if you dont know what a d-plate is refer back to my second statement, FOURTH ... (If I am reading your post corectly) He should be taking out the cat conv. so he CAN run premix not so that he does not have to. AND LAST you ask what oil to use? refer back to my second statement again. Tons of great info on this site all you have to do is find it. Good Luck!

Alright thanks for the insight im new to the hole forum thing and im just trying to turn around and sell the ski and i was trying to get some more information, im pretty sure the D plate was installed. Would you still run the yama lube 2w or run something else. searched forum and found nothing on best oil to use.

http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthre...and+stroke+oil

this is one of many posts about what two stroke oil to use. There are quite a few.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelchild41 View Post
    Alright thanks for the insight im new to the hole forum thing and im just trying to turn around and sell the ski and i was trying to get some more information, im pretty sure the D plate was installed. Would you still run the yama lube 2w or run something else. searched forum and found nothing on best oil to use.
    You have to have the d-plate installed or it won't create back pressure which the 2 strokes need. Yes yamaha 2w is fine to run.

+1