+1

Yamagata VX110 2006 - overheat

I have a 2006 Yamaha VX110 - After not riding it for six months I charged the battery and headed for the river. Everything was fine until I got on the throttle and after about a minute the overheat warning indicator came on along with a buzzer and the ski when into safe mode. I limped back to the boat ramp and let the ski sit for awhile. I headed back out and the same thing happened again.
    When I got home I checked the water inlet strainer for blockage and the water inlet hose attached to the jet drive. Both were fine. I ran the ski on my garden hose with no problems. I had good water flow from the pilot outlet, good water flow out of the engine head. I had good water flow out of the pisser while riding in the water
    I checked the air filter to make sure there was no oil on it, and it was fine. I also checked to see if I had any trouble codes by pressing the dashboard button and I did not, it gave me a 01 which is normal. I studied the maintenance manual a little closer and figured out how to see if one of the engine or exhaust thermal switches may be causing the problem. Since I had good water flow through the engine and out of the pisser I was suspecting one of these switches was the problem. The way the thermal switches work is if the temperature they are sensing is below the safe operating temperature they remain open, if they reach a temperature that exceeds a safe operating temperature they short and cause the overtemp warning to come on and put the ski in safe mode.