Need Some Advice

I'm not a PWC expert so I need some unbiased advice from an expert or two. I have a 2002 MSX140 that ran beautifully until this summer when the engine blew - very low compression on all. Nobody has been able to diagnose the cause (using a new brand of oil or dirt in the funnel are guesses). I've been quoted over $2000 for a new engine which I believe is higher than blue book value. The machine is in outstanding condition otherwise. Any advice would be appreciated.

+1
    Welcome to the HULK!

K-447 Knows quite a bit about the newer polaris's. I myself don't have any experience with those. Keddano also has a MSX. Maybe message them or they may just chime in here.

You found the right place to diagnose your situation. The search function is a great way to learn about these skis.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Sorry to hear about the engine failure. Has the engine been torn down to establish the extent of the damage?

Where are you located?

Are you interested in rebuilding the engine yourself, or having it done?

Thanks for the welcome guys. The engine has not been torn down but the compression readings are 10/20/120. I've been holding off spending any money until I have somewhat of a strategy. I live in Michigan but the machine is in Alabama right now - that's where we were when we had the problem. I'm interested in having someone rebuild it if it can be done without spending an arm and a leg. I have no idea how good the mechanics are that have looked at it so I'm hesitant to do anything without more input. I'm open for any ideas or recommendations. Thanks!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Well, you have a number of options. There are some good shops that still know their way around a Polaris engine, but they tend to be spread out across the countryside.