Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,760
    +1
    38

    Resetting hour meter

    I don't know if I stumbled on to something or if it's just coincidence. I checked the MFD hour meter on my Pro before I started my project and it read 57.3 hours. I replaced the CDI and reconnected the stator wires yesterday. Today I installed a new battery and the MFD read 8888, every single LCD bar was lit. I fumbled with the buttons and nothing changed. Then I remembered the small ground wire. After I connected both ground wires to the battery the MFD worked as usual but when I checked the hours it read 0.0.

    Did I reset the hour meter?


  2. #2
    She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    17,327
    +1
    29
    Sounds like you did.


    Yay..... You got a brand NEW ski.

  3. #3
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,573
    +1
    1,272
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    ...I installed a new battery and the MFD read 8888, every single LCD bar was lit.

    I fumbled with the buttons and nothing changed.

    Then I remembered the small ground wire.

    After I connected both ground wires to the battery the MFD worked as usual but when I checked the hours it read 0.0.

    Did I reset the hour meter?
    Apparently you did

    It sounds like you voltage starved the MFD during power up (because the small electrical box ground wire was not connected). The MFD then failed to complete its internal start-up cycle (LCD locked at 8888 ).

    Then you boosted MFD supply voltage to full battery level by connecting the small ground wire to the battery.

    I might just experiment with a variation of that technique

    If I had a working MFD to experiment with...

    We know the MFD does have a method of deliberately resetting the hour meter to zero using a series of button presses, but so far nobody has been willing to tell us what that is, exactly.

    So it makes sense that a micro-chip crash (there is a tiny micro-controller CPU inside the MFD) during power up might fail safe to resetting everything, including the hour meter.

    I suggest you check whether the voltage display on the MFD is accurate. Sometimes the MFD needs a CAL cycle to correct an inaccurate voltage display.

    Question: How long was the MFD locked up before you connected the small ground wire to the battery?

  4. #4
    Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,760
    +1
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post

    It sounds like you voltage starved the MFD during power up (because the small electrical box ground wire was not connected). The MFD then failed to complete its internal start-up cycle (LCD locked at 8888 ).
    Would the MFD start it's internal start-up cycle automatically with a battery connection or would you have to "wake it up" by pressing one of the buttons?

    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    I might just experiment with a variation of that technique
    What do you have in mind?


    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    I suggest you check whether the voltage display on the MFD is accurate. Sometimes the MFD needs a CAL cycle to correct an inaccurate voltage display.

    Question: How long was the MFD locked up before you connected the small ground wire to the battery?
    Good idea, I'll check MFD against actual battery voltage tomorrow.

    I'd say it was connected between 30-40 seconds. I tried holding down both buttons for 10 seconds twice...counting 1000-1, 1000-2, etc. I disconnected the battery and while thumbing through the manual I remembered the second, smaller ground wire. After reconnection all seemed well.

  5. #5
    Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,760
    +1
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by xlint89 View Post
    Sounds like you did.


    Yay..... You got a brand NEW ski.
    Well, brand NEW to me at least. I was actually pumped it reset, now I can keep track of hours on new motor as well as maintenance intervals.

    The MFD I bought from chopper for the SLTX came with 0.0 hr. meter too.

  6. #6
    bowsniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    macomb,michigan
    Posts
    5,896
    +1
    6
    MFD reset;
    You may need to first touch the Mode button to wake up the MFD
    Press and hold the MODE and SET buttons until CAL 0000 displays. The CAL display will usually show after 4 seconds
    Release both buttons
    Press and hold the SET key
    While continuing to hold the SET key and within 2 seconds of pressing the SET key, press and hold the MODE key
    Don't release either key until the MFD shuts down (about ten seconds).
    After the MFD has shut itself down, press the mode key to turn the MFD on
    Depress the MODE key repeatedly until voltage is displayed and verify that the voltage reading has been restored.

    This procedure may only work when the MFD is plugged into a complete ski, if the MFD needs to see certain voltages on pins other than power and ground.

  7. #7
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,573
    +1
    1,272
    Quote Originally Posted by bowsniper View Post
    MFD reset..
    MFD Reset does not reset the hour meter.

    It does reset other functions, and is mostly used to correct (CALibrate) an inaccurate voltage display on the MFD.

  8. #8
    bowsniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    macomb,michigan
    Posts
    5,896
    +1
    6
    Ah.. I didn't know that.. interesting.

    You have to wake up the mfd by touching the mode key once. it goes off to save electricity after 5 mins --I think---of no operation.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    topeka,ks
    Posts
    3,332
    ya that just resets the top speed and rpm records ,

  10. #10
    Bing-A-Ding-Ding-Ding, Brrrrrap! Brrrrrrrrrap!!! Polaris_Nut#1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Pittsfield, MA
    Posts
    3,350
    +1
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post

    We know the MFD does have a method of deliberately resetting the hour meter to zero using a series of button presses, but so far nobody has been willing to tell us what that is, exactly.

    ?
    never heard that rumor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. reset hour meter
    By TxVirageTx in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2015, 07:55 PM
  2. Can the engine hour meter be reset?
    By bryanw80 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-19-2014, 11:05 AM
  3. My Hour meter reset??
    By Dr Honda in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 02:08 PM
  4. Hour meter
    By mysilvstang in forum Sea Doo Sport Boats
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-30-2007, 03:31 PM
  5. Hour meter
    By 05gtxsc in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2006, 05:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •