Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

New guy with two issues: Depth transducer & Flush connection

Hi to all, I'm a new member, but like Tiny, spent some time in the APBA world. About a million years ago I raced B Racing Runabout with a Konig engine..... Had a lot of fun but then worked in nuclear engineering for the govt. for 35 years. I've been playing with Seadoos for several years now and just picked up a 03 GTX SC on Craig's list with 50 hours and not a scratch for $5000.

First issue, I did notice some cavitation coming out to the hole. I saw some wear on the wear ring, so I'm guessing that's the problem, but I also found the freshwater flush connection in the stearn had the valve open. Can you suck some air into the pump if this valve is left open? It seemed like a possibility if it goes into a low pressure area of the pump. I haven't studied the cooling system enough yet to figure it out.

Next issue. My GTX isn't a LTD, so it doesn't have a depth sounder, but one would be nice to have. Seadoo wants something like $400 for the transducer. Well, transducers and depth sounders aren't rocket science. If we knew the frequency of the unit that's built into our skis (probably 50, 80, or 200kHz) then it should be a simple installation to hook one up and get the dealer to turn it on for us. Does anyone have any more information on the frequency or output power of the installed system? I'd be happy to make mine work, once we have the background info, and share how to do it here.

I have added a factory tach to my Explorer when I installed the 720 vice the 587 engine. I also hooked a factory speedometer on my SPX and installed the factory speed sender and made it all work.

Thanks so much to Green Hulk and all you folks for making a great site for our skis! Mike

Mike, Welcome to the Forum!

a worn wear ring will def give ya cavatation, also check the prop for burns and damage.