'98 SLTH 700 won't rev past 3400 rpm

Hi guys,
    I'm a motorcycle mechanic trying to help my neighbor with his SLTH. He just bought it last week, and when he put it in the water, he found that it would only take about 1/3 throttle before the motor started missing/loading up. Also, the MFD had a flashing red LED, but no display of overheat. The LED does not respond to manual reset.
    He has drained the fuel tank, cleaned the fuel filter and replaced the plugs. No change.
    So now I have gotten involved. I started with checking the fuel pump and cleaning the carbs. Fuel pump is OK. There was a substantial amount of dirt on the fuel inlet valve screens, but they were still passing fuel. I put a straightedge across the carb body and measured the clearance to the inlet valve lever. It seems a little more than the 1.5mm specification, but I did not change it because it would have resulted in a richer fuel condition, and it seems too rich already. I put the carbs back on only to find nothing had changed.
    Next I removed and inspected the reeds and reed block. They look fine with no measurable gaps at the reed/reed body. Reassemble and test....Same condition.
    The flashing LED was bothering me, thinking an overheat condition might have triggered the rev limiter. I removed and visually inspected the sensor. No corrosion or loose connection. Then I temporarily disconnected the sensor wire (tan) from the electrical box. When I stated it up, the LED was still flashing, and again, there was no difference in the way the motor ran. It's still crapping out around 34-3500 rpm and backfiring through the carb throttle plates.
    At this point I suspect it could be an ignition problem with timing or spark advance, but have not yet checked either of those.
    If anyone has had a similar problem, I would appreciate any information you could give me. Thank you.
    BlueDogLeader.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk