throttle sticking

Hi all,
    I took my skis out today on their maiden voyage. Everything was going fine except for one problem with one of the skis. I noticed that the throttle was sticking on the ski that has a carb on it. I tried popping the throttle, thinking that it would unstick it, but it didn't seem to help. I took it back to the dock and removed the seat to see if I could tell what was going on with it. I'm no mechanic by any means, but I did see some sort of bolt with a spring around it that would move when the throttle was pressed. I also saw an adjustable screw near this spring, which appears to be some sort of throttle adjustment screw that could be made longer or shorter to adjust the throttle. Long story short, the throttle doesn't seem to be returning back to idle (resting against the adjustment screw). I tried some WD-40 on the spring to see if it would help, but didn't seem to make much difference. We were able to still run the skis and after a while, the ski would idle at normal RPM's. Later on though, it acted up again for a minute, popped the throttle, and went back to being OK. Is there something else that I can check/lube? These are my first skis, so I'm a novice with parts of the ski at best. Sorry for the long-winded post, and try not to laugh too hard at my verbage of the engine components.
    Any ideas/thoughts would be appreciated.
    Thanks!

+1
    thats dangerous man. i wouldn't let anyone ride them again till you get it fixed.