Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Exclamation Oil at bottom of hull?!

Hi! After 2 years of boating I recently decided to buy a jet ski. It is a 1995 Polaris sl 750. When I went to pick it up everything appeared ok except there was a layer oil at the bottom throughout the hull. Since the price was right and it sounded ok running, i bought it. A week after I bought it home, I started it and ran it a couple of minutes. Then I cleaned up the oil. The next day I looked into the compartment again and there was a layer of oil again, though not as much nor as widespread. Any ideas?

P.S. Sorry if the answer is so obvious, but im a complete noob on jet skis (already ordered manual).

+1
    welcome to the hulk.

this could be a few things in my opinion, i would first check your oil tank its self to see if there is cracks but i would also check all the oil lines i bet ether one fell off the carb or they are cracked, you should not run your engine untill you figure it out, or you can mix some oil and gas and run it that way to try and find the leak.

if you dont come up with anything check your engine block its self, but i would go threw the oil lines real good

I took my '97 1050 out for the first time last weekend. The oil warning was flashing the whole time even though I had a full tank. At the end of the day I pulled the bilge plug to find an alarming amount of oil in the hull.

Baffled, I first started to figure out what was wrong with the oil level sender. I pulled the oil tank only to find no sender at all and a big gaping hole where the sender should be! Upon further investigation, I traced the wires from the e-box and found the sender stuffed under/behind the fuel tank.

Lesson: Sometimes the fix is really, really obvious.

Lesson # 2: Previous owners to skis can do some really, really stupid stuff.

It took me about 2 hours to wash all the oil out of the hull. I had to leave a couple of absorbent petroleum diapers in the bottom to catch the residual stuff.