05 stx 15f oil question

I am fixing to change the oil in my stx 15f for the first time since I have owned it !!! I am just wanting a few options as to want kind of oil I can use !! THANKS

sorry but I am still a newbie !!!!

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by yow View Post
    I am fixing to change the oil in my stx 15f for the first time since I have owned it !!! I am just wanting a few options as to want kind of oil I can use !! THANKS

sorry but I am still a newbie !!!!
    Personaly?? i would stay with the marine grade oils out there. I have a 07 with about 40 hours on it and i'm still using the Kawasaki brand marine oil that was suggested in the owners manual partly because of it having the extended warranty on it. I would stay with kawasaki's oil filters, I tried one of the aftermarket types you get in parts stores and kept hearing upper engine noises. Changed it back to the kawasaki filter and the noises went away. BTW it takes 5.3 qts in case you was wondering and one skinny arm to get to the filter lol Nice bike too

I use the amsoil marine 10w40, very expensive! the kawasaki oil is alot cheaper. Stick with the stock filter

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by STX-15FER View Post
    Personaly?? i would stay with the marine grade oils out there. I have a 07 with about 40 hours on it and i'm still using the Kawasaki brand marine oil that was suggested in the owners manual partly because of it having the extended warranty on it. I would stay with kawasaki's oil filters, I tried one of the aftermarket types you get in parts stores and kept hearing upper engine noises. Changed it back to the kawasaki filter and the noises went away. BTW it takes 5.3 qts in case you was wondering and one skinny arm to get to the filter lol Nice bike too