Prohibido usuario
    +1

Any exterior painters here? Questions?

Need to repaint the exterior of my home. I have plenty of interior experience so I aint scared to tackle it. I have cedar board siding that appears to have been painted with a latex 10+ years ago. The major problem I am having is the knot holes have bled through and the HOA keeps sending letters that I need to pressure wash the mildew off my house. It is painted a light gray and the knots give it the appearance that it has black mildew splotches from the road. The paint is still holding up real well with only a couple of places that it has separated from the wood.

Would I be OK to pressure wash and scrape any loose paint and paint over the rest or do I need to strip all the old paint off? Any special steps since it is cedar? Best to use a airless sprayer?

This is what I love about Green Hulk no matter what the question there will be someone here who knows.

Kilz on the knot holes...scrape...(softly, because it's cedar) the peeling paint....there's bunches of good exterior latex on the market.

I like the acrylic...ceramic? paint...I think by cabot.

Prohibido usuario
    +1
    I didn't think about Kiltzing it but since the last paint job lasted 10+ years I think the Kiltz would be a lot of unnecessary work. The house was built in '82 so the paint may be that old. When I pulled a piece of paint off it looked like a single layer and I guess it's not cedar but maybe redwood or whatever they called it. It's not a dense wood like oak and it's not pine.

Prohibido usuario
    +1
    Just googled it and it is definitely cedar lap siding.

+1