Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,064
    +1
    790

    Can I install my Riva thru hull W/out removeing???

    Guys I wasn't thinking the other day. I was just happy that I had my RE's. So I installed them and then I realized today! OH $hit, I didn't install my Riva thru hull. So Can I do it without removeing my RE's? They are RTVed on very, very, very well. If I can what is the trick? Small Hands?

    If not, selling the Riva thru hull. Cause, I ain't pulling the RE's off.



    .


  2. #2
    EZ Dock of Long Island Shibby1485's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,464
    +1
    4
    it's defintiely possible... then again i just go on top of the motor and lay down and stick my whole head and upper body down in there...

    it's more of a question for long arms and patience... i think u can pull it off man

    i can relate to the RE excitement... i got a set on the way, to be delivered FRIDAY

    hell, i dont even have a motor in my RXP and i'm excited about the REs, hahaha

  3. #3
    rxpblast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ocean City, MD
    Posts
    2,113
    why does it work better with RE's off to install the thru-hull? just courious for when i install mine! (Shibby u get the check?)

  4. #4
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    Austin, you can do it. I do it all the time.

    Just turn the hose clamp nut towards the pump tunnel. You can easily reach in there with a 1/4" drive ratchet and socket to tighten the hose clamp.
    Last edited by Green Hulk; 09-14-2006 at 09:06 AM.

  5. #5
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    Quote Originally Posted by rxpblast
    why does it work better with RE's off to install the thru-hull? just courious for when i install mine! (Shibby u get the check?)
    Because its usually easiest to reach in the hole in the hole the OPAS actuator rod went thru with a socket on an extension to tighten the hose clamp. Now that i do it the other way (above post) i prefer that method.

  6. #6
    captain obvious Lurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Visalia, Ca
    Posts
    2,316
    I did mine with block offs on. It was a tight fit and you have to make sure the clamp is in the perfect position. I think I used my smallest rachet with the little extension.

    Then again I'm a small guy, you big goons may have trouble

  7. #7
    rxpblast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ocean City, MD
    Posts
    2,113
    ok well i will try with the BO's on and if that doesn't work i can trythe other way!

  8. #8
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,064
    +1
    790
    GOOD to hear. I had bought it from GH and just sat it in the corner as I was going to polish the exhaust tip to a bright shine and then forgot about the dang thing.


    .

  9. #9
    Moderator Franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    3,829
    +1
    2
    Austin, as Jerry said, you can do it. I just lay on top of the intake manifold side of the engine and reach back there with a 1/4" socket wrench with an 8mm socket. It's a blind maneuver, so make sure the hose clamps are turned the right way. It's really not that difficult.

  10. #10
    Been there and back! BDNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Silver Bay, Toms River, N.J.
    Posts
    1,536
    Quote Originally Posted by Franko
    Austin, as Jerry said, you can do it. I just lay on top of the intake manifold side of the engine and reach back there with a 1/4" socket wrench with an 8mm socket. It's a blind maneuver, so make sure the hose clamps are turned the right way. It's really not that difficult.

    I agree...totally doable.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-06-2013, 08:28 AM
  2. Can I make the riva thru hull fit my 2012 rxtx?
    By JohnnyG. in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-20-2012, 11:34 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-13-2012, 04:49 PM
  4. Riva Thru Hull Exhaust Install - help
    By wolf513 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-29-2008, 09:32 PM
  5. GTX riva thru hull install
    By skoepp in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 12:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •