Thread: Ran Aground

I pew pew lazors

Ran Aground

Ski: 2005 RXP, SC + IC

First, most of you guys here already know by now that I'm very new to PWCs. With that said...

I was idling through shallow water checking out some coves and before I realized it I bottomed out my ski in some ugly stuff. It was probably about two feet deep of water with mud so heavy you couldn't see the ground. I noticed as I bottomed out the ski lost some RPMs. I slowly pulled the ski around and idled into deeper water. As I was heading toward the dock I noticed that I had very little power and when I revved up anywhere over 3k RPMs I got quite a bit of vibration. I killed the engine and floated for a few minutes. Started 'er back up and noticed the power loss was still there but not quite as bad and anything around 3.5-4k RPMs created that same vibration feeling. I limped to the dock, tied off, jumped in the water to feel around the impeller grate (I think this is what it's called lol) for any foreign objects. I didn't feel anything. I went ahead and fired it back up and got the same vibration at 3.5k - 4k RPMs again and again. I killed the ski and restarted it 2 more times and kept getting the vibration. I finally got the balls and throttled up to about 5k RPMs and something gave way because the vibration instantly stopped and i started hauling ass. The ski behaved like it normally does after that. When I eventually got home I washed the ski off and crawled under the trailer to inspect it. Nothing looked scratched up and the impeller was defect free. I didn't see any chips, scratches, etc. The drive shaft to the impeller looked completely shiny without any scratches too.

My question is, should I be worried that I f'd something? lol..

Thanks,
    Mike

+1