Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

1100 zxi jetting

im new to working with watercraft engines im usually working on my quad,
    i have a 96 1100 zxi and i think i need to change the slow jet to a smaller size, i have to feather the gas tell around 3500 rpm's and thats the only thing i can think of that would cause it. it has a keihin cdk carb on it
    i was wondering if i was going to need any gaskets to take it apart and reassemble it. and if anyone has a diagram or how to for taking it apart or could point me in the right direction i would appreciate it, i donnt know where the slow jet is located so im just going to start disassembling it tell i find it and i can only find diagrams of the cdk 2 carb

please guys i really need help now i got my jets switched and everything back together but now it doesnt look like any fuel is getting to the carbs, is there something i have to do to get fuel in the lines before the pumps start working?

+1
    Well before you do any changes to jetting richen the slow speed fuel screw a 1/4 turn out on each carb it sounds like to me you have the carbs set to lean or they have been setting for sometime and may have some blockage causing it to run lean.
    If you have to feather the throttle til it gets past 3500rpm your lean but an easy way to tell is will it run better with the chock on part way if so your lean then try the slow speed fuel screew first if it makes it better your lean.
    Also before you start changing jets I would ask your self if it got good fuel in the tank and if the carbs are clean First. If so and the fuel screew helps then go up one jet size but I had the same boat and ran a set of Prok air filters and a head and only had to change the fuel screew settings no jetting.
    but if you must here is a pic of the carbs look at part number 16158 its the slow speed jet its a 72 only change to a 75 if needed.